Lake Camanche is the perfect place to bring or store your boat, year round. The western end of the lake, with its wide-open geography, is perfect for personal watercraft, wakeboards, water skis, and other towables. Marinas are located on North and South Shores with eight-lane launch ramps, berthing, storage and rental boats.
Covered slips are available on a short-term and annual basis. Camanche features a 5 mph limit within 200 feet of shore, providing quiet beaches for sunbathing and solitude.
The eastern end of the lake, east of the narrows, is reserved for a quieter boating or fishing experience. No personal motorize watercraft or towables are allowed in this area and speed restrictions are imposed.
NO LIFEGUARDS ARE ON DUTY. ALL ON-WATER ACTIVITIES ARE DONE AT YOUR OWN RISK. You are responsible for knowing the rules and regulations of Lake Camanche.
A complete list of the rules and regulations are available at Water Activity Regulations (pdf). General stores on each shore are stocked with bait and tackle, snacks, groceries, beverages, fishing and camping supplies.
Due to the growing presence of the invasive Zebra and Quagga mussel in California, we will be conducting mandatory boat inspections and interviews prior to entry. Please note that all out of state boats and prohibited California counties are subject to a full decontamination process prior to launching at Lake Camanche . Please click here for more information, tips, and a list of prohibited counties.
Due to the restrictions of Social Distancing, ALL boats will be rented at HALF CAPACITY only. Discounts are not available.
CALIFORNIA SAFE BOATER’S CARD is required for rentals.
The new requirement will begin on Jan. 1, 2018 for all persons 20 years of age and younger who operate a
recreational motorized vessel on state waterways. On that date these boaters will be required to carry a boater
card issued by DBW, unless they meet certain exemptions stated below.*
Each year after January 2018, a new age group will be added to those who are required to possess a valid
card. By 2025, all persons who operate a motorized recreational vessel on California waters will be required to
have one. Once issued, the card remains valid for a boat operator’s lifetime. California Harbors and Navigation
Code Section 678.11(b) contains the following phase-in schedule based on operator age:
• January 1, 2018 Persons 20 years of age or younger
• January 1, 2019 Persons 25 years of age or younger
• January 1, 2020 Persons 35 years of age or younger
• January 1, 2021 Persons 40 years of age or younger
• January 1, 2022 Persons 45 years of age or younger
• January 1, 2023 Persons 50 years of age or younger
• January 1, 2024 Persons 60 years of age or younger
• January 1, 2025 All persons regardless of age
*California age restrictions for operating a motorized vessel: According to California Harbors and Navigation Code Section 658.5,
NO person under 16 years of age may operate a boat with a motor of more than 15 horsepower, except for a sailboat that does
not exceed 30 feet in length or a dinghy used directly between a moored boat and the shore (or between two moored boats). The
law allows children 12-15 years of age to operate boats with a motor of more than 15 horsepower or sailboats over 30 feet if
supervised on board by an adult at least 18 years of age. Violating these provisions constitutes and infraction.